The Verses Which Own My Heart

Being a word-lover, there’s something that gets me about perfectly placed words. Every time, without fail. It’s this little frisson of excitement and this little jump of yes, this is perfect, this is happy, this is great.

At church today, we were listening to a sermon on Mark, where Jesus basically owns the Pharisees every single time. I enjoy that personally, because there’s so many levels of, “HA! Take THAT!” for me to revel in. But there’s also the fact that Jesus was pretty much the Master of arranging words to be…

Well, perfect.

And I get the frisson of excitement about the words and the truth behind them whenever I’m leafing through my Bible, letting my fingers linger on certain lines and hold the corner of those wafer-thin pages between my thumb and pointer. It’s a double whammy of yes this is perfect.

Favourite verses? Favourite verses.

As-for-me-new
Image via ShopMarked on Etsy | Print available for purchase

The verse: And if it is evil in your eyes to serve the Lord, choose this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your fathers served in the region beyond the River, orthe gods of the Amorites in whose land you dwell. But as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. – Joshua 24:15

Why I love: Another hit of “Take THAT.” I love it for its decisiveness, going, “Yep, do what you want. But I’m going to make this choice.” It’s being steadfast in your beliefs despite the ‘easy option’ looming.

StrengthSong
Image via Simply-Divine-Creation on Tumblr

The verse: The Lord is my strength and my song, and he has become my salvation; this is my God, and I will praise him, my father’s God, and I will exalt him. – Exodus 15:2

Why I love: Personal story behind this one. The majority of my life, I had massive fears about dying. In my mind, dying was going to be me lying in a coffin and that was scary, because I didn’t like the dark. Young me also thought that perhaps I’d get hungry when I died and what would happen if Mum couldn’t get to me? (I was a logical child.) Anyway, when I became a Christian, that fear still lived strong. I was, as it were, ye of little faith. “What if I’m not actually saved, and what if Christ comes back and I’m like Hello yes I am here and He’s like LOL jk no, can’t believe you fell for that one.”

I was reading one night, feeling very panicked. And I just said aloud, “Right. Okay. Can you please just let me know if I’m saved or not?”

Then I opened my Bible and boom, this verse. It continues to be the one that gets me through a lot of times, good or bad or otherwise. In all these times, He is my strength. He is my song. And He continues to save me daily.

oneinchrist
Image by lewissatini via DeviantArt | Available for purchase

The verse: There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is no male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus. – Galatians 3:28

Why I love: When you grow up in a Chilean household like mine, you tend to get the distinct impression that you aren’t quite good enough. It’s not because you’re out carjacking or painting graffiti on sacred buildings (I didn’t do that, I promise; I was just a sassmouth). It’s because you happened to be born with female chromosomes as opposed to male. And oh, I hated that. My mother hated that. My father and brother didn’t particularly mind.

When I was reading my Bible one day as a fairly new Christian, I came across this verse. And it comforted me. Despite what happened (and what still happens, but a sight less in my own home now), it’s pretty clear to see that coming before God, we’re all the same, He values us equally. J’adore.

fearfully
Image via PoplarPress on Etsy | Print available for purchase

The verse: I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. – Psalm 139:14

Why I love: Okay, we’re all pretty well aware of the dangers of Photoshop, and the fact that models are super skinny, and that women are basically expected to look a certain way without the assistance of shapewear (corsets and bustles, anyone?), and that there’s this hugely dangerous idea going around both camps of “real women have curves” or “men only like ladies who are scrawny”. Come on, we’re better than that. (Same goes with the guys’ camp of MUSCLES YO.)

Instead, why not embrace this ideal? Whatever we have been born with, we’re fearfully and wonderfully made. The human body and mind is an incredible thing and we’re worth so much more than our looks. Beauty is fleeting. Character lasts. (Which points me to another favourite verse, Proverbs 31:30.)

strengthdignity
Image by Megan Watson via CreationSwap

The verse: Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come. – Proverbs 31:25

Why I love: Strength, dignity and a bit of a giggle – oh yes, I want to be this lady. Proverbs 31 Woman is a woman of awesomeness. It’s not daintiness and your typical Edwardian ladylike attitude. She’s a lady who goes, “Sweet, I can deal with this,” and does so with an incredible sense of character.

And she’s not able to laugh at the days to come purely because she’s perpetually happy. She does so because her Lord has it all in hand, and she’s got nothing to stress about. As someone who has her fair share of stressful moments (hello, me at 1am), this is something ridiculously fab.

Your favourites?

Leave a Reply

