Wedding Wednesday: Dresses I love

Seeing as I work at a bridal magazine now (news which 16 year old me, trudging down to the newsagents with a crumpled $10 note in my fist to buy bridal magazines, squeals at excitedly), I figure I might as well divulge a little of what I learn while in production on the mag.

It is only a quarterly mag, but it still doesn’t stop me from gazing at pretty things on Pinterest or swooning over the latest collections when we’re in production for other mags. My love takes its sweet time to die, and here I find yet another outlet.

Without further ado, I present to you the first Wedding Wednesday post.

Since I was young, I’ve had a thing for dresses. Wedding dresses, to be precise.

I once entertained ideas of being a costume designer, secretly thrilled at the idea of stitching elaborate costumes that would wow everyone. Buttery leather beneath my fingertips being coaxed into a belt, puddles of lace flooding the floor… oh, it was a dream.

Then, my thoughts flurried along to couture. I loved the idea of crazy design, outlandish design that still caught the eye with its beauty, with delicate pearls stitched along harsh angles, or skirts blooming voluminously out from a tiny waist. I still remember this gorgeous McQueen gown, black and lacy and endless, from my very first copy of Vogue.

I was in a newsagent and a magazine caught my eye. A bride stared out from the pages, a smile playing across her lips, cocooned in white and clutching a gorgeous bouquet.

And it was from that moment that I fell in love with bridal dresses. I remember racing home with my magazine, sliding into the chairs at home, and having my mother squint at me in much confusion. “Weddings?” she asked, her tone echoing with is there something she hasn’t told me?

“Weddings,” I said. “I want to design wedding dresses. It’s like couture, but anyone can wear it.”

Later we all came to the conclusion that while I could draw wedding dresses, the sewing part made me a little antsy. And I was leaning towards a HECS-inclusive degree, which Whitehouse (the school of my dreams) was not.

Thus, I became a writer, and pursued not one, not two, but three bridal-related internships during my degree.

Now I’m at a bridal magazine, and here I am, getting to write about weddings and things for giggles. And I love dresses.

We recently were looking at the most recent bridal collections from my favourite international designers, and I had a bit of a moment with a few. So, I decided, why not share them?

1. Louisse, Elie by Elie Saab (Pronovias)

Elie Saab

Elie Saab, you beautiful man. I can’t remember where I saw this photo but I decided to save it on my phone and pin it. Cue everyone going just as crazy as I was, and the pin being repinned over 7000 times. (I’m famous.)

While I’m not as huge a fan of the front of this dress as I am of the back, the Louisse is still utterly gorgeous. Designed by Saab for Pronovia’s 2014 Elie by Elie Saab collection, I’m enthralled by the delicate lace, that hint of an exposed back adding a sexy touch that contrasts nicely with the more demure lace, and the floral shoulders make it so complete feminine.

2. Salome, Rosa Clara

vestido_de_novia_rosa_clara_81115

Can we all remember that luxe Oscar de la Renta gown as worn by Emma Watson to the final Harry Potter premiere? Tulle layers in a glorious full skirted silhouette, with a beaded bodice which makes me just go “hnggggg” (and yes, that’s an actual sound).

When I saw the Salome gown, my reaction was basically the same, because it’s basically the same dress (style-wise, anyway – the waist is a bit more dropped on this gown). Dear me, Rosa Clara, you’ve earned your status as my favourite bridal gown designer ever. Please, keep doing all you do.

3. HB6285, Saja Wedding

HB6285When I need a dose of happy, I tend to gravitate towards Style Me Pretty and their ilk. And boy, was my happiness rewarded the other day with this gorgeous Saja Wedding gown.

Drop shoulders (a trend predicted rather accurately by my editor, Nicole) add an almost chevron twist to this gown, thanks to the sublime detailing on the bodice. Draping is divine, too, in a Grecian style that is classic and chic. I don’t know why, but that gold ribbon belt reminds me so much of the Regency fashions. Jane Bennet, eat your heart out.

4. Bliss, Monique Lhuillier

Shot_03

Playful and flirty and utterly fun. I love this Monique Lhuillier gown for a million reasons. It’s the ultimate party dress, fuelling my endless love of light, floaty fabrics teamed with a more structured bodice. Sweetheart necklines are always to die for, and the beaded belt is a teeny bit of glamour.

Look, I know you’re not meant to imagine things like this, but I could actually see myself in this gown. Running down rolling green hills, dandelions flying dreamily around in my wake, possibly tripping over and getting mud not just on my hem…

Point taken. Tash, do not wear this dress unless you’re planning on turning up to your own nuptials covered in mud.

5. KWH by Karen Willis Holmes, Karen Willis Holmes

imageI know I showed 80% of my love to international designers (because despite what Australians are prone to doing, I cannot claim New Zealand-based Saja as Australian no matter how hard I try), but here I end on a gorgeous Australian piece from the extraordinarily talented Karen Willis Holmes. Isn’t it a beauty? While the bias gown wouldn’t work for a gal like me, it’s utterly gorgeous regardless. The sheer tulle in such a delicate pattern is beautiful, the boat neckline is chic and classic and hnggggg again, and that darling little ribbon in a bow at the back just has me all in a tizzy.

Sigh.

Wedding dresses, you make my heart sing, I love you.

All images courtesy of their respective website. Links can be found above. 

Leave a Reply

